Puente de Dios

Puente de Dios

Last weekend a few friends and I travelled some incredibly bendy roads through amazing mountainous landscapes to Jalpan. We visited a number of places in the area one of which was called Puente de Dios. I recommend this place to anyone who can get there. You start walking along the bottom of a small gorge listening to the croaking of thousands of little frogs (a picture of one will be coming soon). The walls start to grow around you and with each step you feel the stresses of city life melt away. Eventually after chasing far too many frogs trying to get a good picture of one you arrive at the tunnel seen in this picture. The lighting, falling water, sounds, silhouettes, all of it together make this a really special place. So of course I was excited to get shooting! I managed to take just 2 photographs when I arrived to the “puente” before my battery died. But that’s ok I thought, I always carry a spare. But apparently not this time! My spare was still back in the car at the other end of the gorge. So lesson learnt – always check your gear before you set off. I plan to go back here sometime in the near future. The view from the other side is even more spectacular as the sun creates an intense rainbow in the falling water.

Camera: Panasonic Lumix G2
Lens: 14-42mm @ 19mm
ISO: 100
Aperture: f/4.2
Shutter: 1/10 sec

Leave a Reply

