Orange Thinking Space

Orange Thinking Space

Street photography is something I really admire and also something I have never really tried. The latter is soon to change! It was new year’s day and my girlfriend, her family and I were walking around the brightly coloured, bustling streets of Cholula. We stopped on a street corner and she said “If I were a photographer, I would take a picture of that”. In that moment she drew an imaginary rectangular frame around the picture in this post. She told me how she liked the contrasting colours and the way the shadows were thrown diagonally on the wall.

After taking this picture I decided to start researching about street photography. Probably one of the biggest challenges appears to be getting over the fear of taking pictures of strangers in the street who possibly don’t want to be photographed. This picture was taken from the other side of the road so no fear involved here. But this is just the start. My plan is to go exploring the street armed with only my 20mm prime lens. (40mm is the 35mm equivalent as I’m shooting with a micro 4/3rds). With this lack of focal length I’m going to have to get up close to my subjects.

So watch this space. Over the coming weeks and months I’m going to take a shot at street photography! If anyone has any advice on where to start please let me know 🙂

Camera: Panasonic Lumix G2
Lens: 14-42mm @ 42mm
ISO: 100
Aperture: f/9
Shutter: 1/100 sec

3 thoughts on “Orange Thinking Space

  1. All the best to you from a fellow street photohrapher.

    Try to get closer. Use earphones even if you aren’t listening to music. Buys you a legit excuse for situations when people shout at you to not take pics 😉

    And yes. . .get closer!!!

Leave a Reply

